Giang | 06 Apr 2021

Everything You Need To Know About The UEFA Euro 2020

The official name of the tournament

Due to the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic, although it will be held in the summer of 2021, the official name of the tournament is still be called UEFA EURO 2020.

Image Source:

The hosts

This is the first time in history that the Euro has been held across many different countries. There are a total of 12 stadiums in 12 cities belonging to the countries of the European Football Associations. The final match will be held at Wembley Stadium, London, England.

Image Source:

List of stadiums hosting the Euro 2020

  1. Johan Cruyff Arena (Netherlands)
  2. Stadio Olimpico (Italy)
  3. San Mames (Spain)
  4. Baku National Stadium (Azerbaijan)
  5. Allianz Arena (Germany)
  6. Wembley (England)
  7. Parken Stadium (Denmark)
  8. Puskas Arena (Hungary)
  9. Aviva Stadium (Ireland)
  10. Hampden Park (Scotland)
  11. Arena Nationala (Romania)
  12. Krestovsky Stadium (Russia)

Competition format

The format will be the same as for UEFA EURO 2016, 24 teams were divided into 6 groups.

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, and Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

The teams that finish in first and second place will progress to the round of 16, as well as the four best teams to finish in third place.

In the case of two teams are equal on points, the following tie-breaking criteria are applied: head-to-head results, goal difference, goal for, number of wins, score of fair-play (based on the number of cards), position on the standings total qualifying.

The mascot

Unlike previous EURO, the mascot of this tournament is just human. The Euro 2020 mascot is called Skillzy, UEFA describes him as “a larger-than-life character inspired by freestyling, street and panna culture”.

Image Source: Youtube UEFA