Giang | 28 Apr 2021

Memories Of The UEFA Euro – Euro 1980 Final

Host Country

UEFA Euro 1980 was held in Italy, with 4 stadiums being used: Stadio Olimpico, San Siro, Stadio San Paolo (now also known as Stadio Diego Armando Maradona Diego Armando Maradona, home of Napoli FC), and Stadio Comunale (home of the Torino FC). In particular, Stadio Olimpico, the home stadium of AS Roma and Lazio was chosen for the final match.

Image Source: Youtube UEFA

Participating teams

This is the 6th Euro in history and also the first Euro Final tournament where the number of participating teams has increased to eight. In addition to familiar names such as West Germany, England, Spain, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Belgium and the host Italy. In this Euro 1980, there is also the first appearance of Greece national team. They finished qualifying round with 7 points, ranked above Finland, Hungary and Soviet Union.

Image Source: Greek Herald

The champion team

West Germany national team were the winner of this tournament after they overcame Belgium 2-1 in the final match in Rome. Striker Horst Hrubesch was the man of the match when he scored both 2 goals, including the goal in the last minute to help Germany get the title. This is also the second championship of the West Germany team when they crowned 8 years ago.

Image Source: Twitter Lothar Matthäus

The top scorer

Even though not scoring in the final match, the title of top scorer of the tournament still belonged to West Germany striker Klaus Allofs. The player born in 1956 also became the third West German player in history to win this award after Gerd Muller (1972) and Dieter Muller (1976).

Image Source: Twitter Lothar Matthäus